Elections to the Council in class (b)

9 December 2020

The Vice-Chancellor announces that the following persons have been elected to serve as members of the Council in class (b) from 1 January 2021 for four years:

Class (b) (Professors and Readers): Professor Anthony Peter Davenport, CTH, and Professor Maria Manuel Gabao Lisboa, JN.

Details of the poll and the transfer of votes under the Single Transferable Vote regulations (*Statutes and Ordinances*, *November 2020*, p. 114) are as follows:

Number of valid votes cast: 1,252 (no invalid votes) (Quota: 418)

	First count	Transfe	r of Prof. Sala's votes	Second count	Transfer of Prof. Simons' votes	Third count	RESULT
Professor Anthony Peter Davenport, CTH	283	+36		319	+124	443	SECOND ELECTED
Professor Maria Manuel Gabao Lisboa, JN	418			418		418	FIRST ELECTED
Dr John David Rhodes, CC	245	+8		253	+37	290	
Professor Evis Sala, G	97	-97		=		-	
Professor BENJAMIN DAVID SIMONS, JN	209	+33		242	-242	_	
Non-transferable		20		20	81	101	_
TOTAL	1252			1252		1252	

Elections to the Council in class (c)

9 December 2020

The Vice-Chancellor announces that the following persons have been elected to serve as members of the Council in class (c) from 1 January 2021 for four years:

Class (c) (members of the Regent House other than Heads of Colleges, Professors, and Readers):

Dr Zoe Louise Adams, K, Dr Ann Kaminski, ED, Dr Michael Joseph Sewell, SE, and Dr Pieter Jacob van Houten, CHU.

Details of the poll and the transfer of votes under the Single Transferable Vote regulations (*Statutes and Ordinances*, *November 2020*, p. 114) are as follows:

Number of valid votes cast: 1,270 (no invalid votes) (Quota: 254)

	First count	Transfer of Dr Adams' surplus	Second count	Transfer of Dr Suckling's votes	Third count	Transfer of Dr Watson's votes	Fourth count	Transfer of Ms Wyburd's votes	Fifth count	RESULT
Dr ZOE LOUISE ADAMS, K	399	-145	254		254		254		254	FIRST ELECTED
Dr Ann Kaminski, <i>ED</i>	151	+15.91	166.91	+19.11	186.02	+7.74	193.76	+46	239.76	THIRD ELECTED
Dr MICHAEL JOSEPH SEWELL, SE	177	+8.51	185.51	+13.74	199.25	+7.11	206.36	+38	244.36	SECOND ELECTED
Dr NICHOLAS LUCA SIMCIK ARESE, <i>CAI</i>	98	+46.25	144.25	+6.74	150.99	+42.79	193.78	+24	217.78	
Dr John Suckling	79	+5.55	84.55	-84.55	_		_		_	
Dr PIETER JACOB VAN HOUTEN, <i>CHU</i>	147	+20.35	167.35	+11.37	178.72	+25.88	204.6	+29	233.6	FOURTH ELECTED
Dr Steven Watson, W	70	+37	107	+6.11	113.11	-113.11	_		=	
Ms JOCELYN MARGARET WYBURD, <i>CL</i>	149	+8.51	157.51	+9.74	167.25	+13.11	180.36	-170	10.36	
Non-transferable		2.92	2.92	17.74	20.66	16.48	37.14	33	70.14	
TOTAL	1270		1270	- -	1270		1270		1270	

Election to the Board of Scrutiny in class (c)(ii)

9 December 2020

The Vice-Chancellor announces that the following person has been elected to serve as a member of the Board of Scrutiny in class (*c*)(ii) with immediate effect until 30 September 2023:

Class (c)(ii) (members of the Regent House): Dr GILLIAN CLARE CARR, CTH.

Details of the poll and the transfer of votes under the Single Transferable Vote regulations (*Statutes and Ordinances*, *November 2020*, p. 114) are as follows:

Number of valid votes cast: 1,006 (no invalid votes	(Quota	(Quota: 503)		
Dr Gillian Clare Carr, CTH	576	ELECTED		
Dr Robert Vincent Leveson Doubleday, CHR	430			
TOTAL	1006			

Result of ballot on Grace 5 of 29 July 2020 (titles and structure of academic offices)

9 December 2020

The Registrary gives notice that, as a result of the ballot held between 27 November and 8 December 2020, Grace 5 of 29 July 2020 was approved:

That the recommendations in paragraph 13 of the Joint Report of the Council and the General Board, dated 18 March 2020, on the titles and structure of academic offices (*Reporter*, 6582, 2019–20, p. 419) be approved.

The results of the voting on this Grace are as follows:

Number of valid votes: 1,550 (no invalid votes)

In favour of the Grace (*placet*) 1,139

Against the Grace (non placet) 411

Result of ballot on Grace 2 of 28 September 2020 and on three amendments (University Statement on Freedom of Speech)

9 December 2020

The Registrary gives notice that, as a result of the ballot held between 27 November and 8 December 2020, Grace 2 of 28 September 2020 as amended by amendments 1, 2 and 3 was **approved**.

The Grace is for the approval of Recommendation I of the Council's Report on updates to the University's freedom of speech documentation (*Reporter*, 6582, 2019–20, p. 425), which reads as follows:

That approval be given to the revised University Statement on Freedom of Speech, as set out in Annex I to this Report.

The amendments that have been approved are changes to paragraphs 2, 6 and 8 of the revised University's Statement on Freedom of Speech proposed in the Report. The details of the changes are set out in the Notice published on 9 October 2020 (*Reporter*, 6591, 2020–21, p. 43). The revised Statement, incorporating the amendments, is available at: https://www.governanceandcompliance.admin.cam.ac.uk/governance-and-strategy/university-statement-freedom-speech

The results of the voting on this Grace, conducted under the Single Transferable Vote regulations (*Statutes and Ordinances*, *November 2020*, p. 114), and the amendments are as follows:

Number of valid votes: 1,686 (no invalid votes) (Quota: 843)

	First count	RESULT
(a) In favour of the Grace in its original form	162	
(b) In favour of the Grace in an amended form	1316	Approved
(c) Against the Grace, whether as originally proposed or in amended form	208	
TOTAL	1686	

	For	Against	RESULT
Amendment 1 (paragraph 2)	1378	208	APPROVED
Amendment 2 (paragraph 6)	1243	311	APPROVED
Amendment 3 (paragraph 8)	1202	342	APPROVED